Skip to content

Get in touch

Membership of the Company is drawn from the security industry in its widest sense and includes leading security professionals from the industrial and retail sectors, serving and retired members of the police and armed services, security consultants, academics, heads of security for corporate businesses, investigators, and electronic surveillance companies.

The Clerk - Adrienne Harper

Phone: +44 (0) 1256 395036‬
36 Queens Rd, North Warnborough, Hampshire, RG29 1DN

"*" indicates required fields

The Sheriffs’ Award for Bravery 2024 – ‘Old Bailey’ Reception

The Sheriffs’ Award for Bravery is an annual Award which was initiated by The Worshipful Company of Security Professionals following the London bombings in July 2005.  It recognises individuals who have acted to confront danger to another person, without consideration for their own safety.

Each year in October, following the presentation of the Award to the Principal Recipient at the Company’s Annual Dinner, the Sheriffs launch the Award for the following year. Every February the Sheriffs attend a Reception, hosted by the Worshipful Company of Security Professionals, held in the Judges’ Dining Room at The Old Bailey to raise the profile of the Award and to seek nominations for the current year.

The reception for this year’s Sheriffs’ Award for Bravery took place on 28th February. Presided over by Alderwoman and Sheriff Dame Susan Langley and Alderman Sheriff Bronek Masojada. 

The Master opened the proceedings by welcoming the Sheriffs, Members of the Company and guests and introduced Wes Harper, Junior Warden and Chair of the Sheriffs’ Award Working Group for 2024. The Junior Warden then gave a brief history of the Award and an overview of how the process is managed.   

Alderman Sheriff Bronek Masojada spoke on behalf of the Sheriffs and thanked the Worshipful Company of Security Professionals for their continued support and the privilege of choosing the Principal Recipient and Commendations for the Award. Having been involved in the 2023 selection he then recounted a number of the brave and selfless acts of those nominated in the previous year.

The Master thanked Sherriff Masojada for his words and acknowledged the support of the late Sir David Brewer in establishing the Award in 2006, and extended a warm welcome to Mr Niall Stranix, Principal Recipient of the 2023 Sheriffs’ Award for Bravery.

The Award is a highly prestigious one with the Principal Recipient receiving a trophy, a framed certificate and £5,000.  By order of the Sheriffs, the Principal Recipient’s name is permanently inscribed on the Honours Board and in the Book of Honour, both of which are on permanent display at The Old Bailey.

Nominations are now being sought from across the United Kingdom and are open to any person, whether a member of the public, the Emergency Services, the Armed Forces or anyone employed in the Security Industry.  The closing date for this year’s nominations is 1 August 2024.

If you know someone who deserves to be nominated, please submit your nomination on the WCoSP website: Sheriffs’ Award for Bravery – WCoSP or you can contact the Clerk, via email – [email protected]

Back To Top