Skip to content

Get in touch

Membership of the Company is drawn from the security industry in its widest sense and includes leading security professionals from the industrial and retail sectors, serving and retired members of the police and armed services, security consultants, academics, heads of security for corporate businesses, investigators, and electronic surveillance companies.

The Clerk - Adrienne Harper

Phone: +44 (0) 1256 395036‬
36 Queens Rd, North Warnborough, Hampshire, RG29 1DN

"*" indicates required fields

The King’s College London (KCL) Annual Essay Prize was introduced in 2013 by the Master of that year, Gerald Moor. The prize itself is awarded to the MA student on the Terrorism, Security & Society Course who, in the opinion of of the course leader, has written the best essay during the current course year.

This course was chosen by Prof. Mervyn Frost, Professor of International Relations and a long standing ally of the Company. The MA in Terrorism, Security & Society encourages students to examine some of the most challenging issues of our time. It is deliberately designed to encourage a multidisciplinary approach which draws on history, political science, international relations, and sociology. This unique course is valued by governments and employers across the world because it prompts thought on these issues in a creative and interconnected way.

The prize winner, together with the course leader, are invited to attend the Master’s Installation Lunch in June when a cheque for £350 is presented. This timing fits perfectly with the course’s academic year with final essays being marked in late May. Presentation can alternatively be made at the Master’s Annual Dinner in October.

In due course, a photograph of the presentation is sent to the prize winner and their essay posted on the Company website. These essays are always at the forefront of strategic security thinking as demonstrated by the 2019 winner Blyth Crawford whose essay was titled ‘From Memes to Mobilisation: Understanding Far-Right Propaganda in the Internet Age’.

The KCL Essay Prize demonstrably adds to the Company’s commitment to charity and education with a particular focus on security. It also enhances WCoSP’s status with its connection to a Russell Group university of world class standing.

2023 KCL Award-winning Essay from Eléonore Casanova

2023 – Eléonore Casanova

2022 – Matteo Natlacen

2020 – Oniqa Siddiqa

2019 – Blyth Crawford

2018 – James Monroe

2017 – Elliott McArdle

2016 – Grace O’Neill

2015 – Nicholas Kaderbhai

2014 – Adam Brodie

Back To Top