skip to Main Content

Get in touch

Membership of the Company is drawn from the security industry in its widest sense and includes leading security professionals from the industrial and retail sectors, serving and retired members of the police and armed services, security consultants, academics, heads of security for corporate businesses, investigators, and electronic surveillance companies.

The Clerk - Adrienne Harper

Phone: +44 (0) 1256 395036‬
36 Queens Rd, North Warnborough, Hampshire, RG29 1DN

    The Award is a highly prestigious one with the winner receiving a trophy, a framed certificate and a cheque for £2,500. By order of the Sheriffs their names are permanently inscribed on an Honours Board and in a Book of Honour which are on permanent display at the Central Criminal Court – ‘The Old Bailey’.

    The search for nominations begins in February each year at the Old Bailey during a ceremony presided over by the Sheriffs. Later in the year the Sheriffs select the Award winner and a deserving list of runners-up.

    Nominations are sought from across the United Kingdom and are open to members of the public as well as members of the Emergency Services, the Armed Forces and people employed in the Security Industry.

    Sheriffs’ Award for Bravery Nomination 2022


    The Sheriffs who select the individual to receive the Principal Bravery Award and any individuals worthy of receiving Commendatory Bravery Awards, rely entirely on what you write to inform their judgements. The group of individuals who put forward a list of nominations to be considered by the Sheriffs, also rely on the same written description of what took place to enable them to do so.

    The criteria which guides the selection in both cases, includes but is not limited to:

    • whether the individual was knowingly aware that he/she was at risk of harm.
    • the actual degree of danger or intimidation present at the time.
    • whether the individual acted of their own volition, irrespective of the presence or action of others, and
    • to what degree the person’s actions were beyond their normal zone of comfort.

    Therefore, the more detail you provide the more helpful it will be.

    Nominations should describe the scene, or successive scenes, which make clear the extent of physical danger and intimidation existing immediately preceding the brave act(s) and, as near as possible to what confronted the nominee at the time. It is not necessary to describe what the nominee did in laudatory terms but instead ensure that there is sufficient detail to answer all, or some, of the criteria above to enable others to judge the degree of heroism and selflessness shown. If there is not sufficient detail available to you to do this, but you know the instance of bravery to be exceptional, do please take steps to acquire the detail that you need. It is important that when an individual is part of a group but nevertheless distinguished himself by his own action, to make sure this is brought out in your narrative.

    The group of individuals who first examine the nominations, are knowledgeable and long-serving experts in various fields of public security, and therefore understand the alarmingly, dangerous and, at times life-threatening situations which occur in public and domestic life, and the ways in which different individuals respond to them. You may therefore be assured that provided there is a full and factual account describing the brave act(s), there is no need to add your own opinion about the degree of bravery shown.

    The Award was begun as a means of paying tribute to the unsung heroes of the aftermath of the London bombing in July 2005 – most of whom were members of the general public.

    Accordingly, there is a settled intention to honour ordinary members of the public who act spontaneously and bravely, as much as members of the emergency services who act in a way that is significantly beyond what would be expected of them, and who may in any case be eligible for separate awards or commendations.

    Whilst individuals who perform acts of bravery within the UK are eligible for the Award, individuals who perform such acts abroad are not.

    The closing date for nominations is August 1st.

    If you have any questions about writing a nomination, please get in touch with the Clerk to the Worshipful Company of Security Professionals at who will, if necessary, put you in touch with a member of the Sheriffs Award Working Group.


      Your Details

      Who are you nominating?

      Back To Top