skip to Main Content

Get in touch

Membership of the Company is drawn from the security industry in its widest sense and includes leading security professionals from the industrial and retail sectors, serving and retired members of the police and armed services, security consultants, academics, heads of security for corporate businesses, investigators, and electronic surveillance companies.

The Clerk - Adrienne Harper

Phone: +44 (0) 1256 395036‬
36 Queens Rd, North Warnborough, Hampshire, RG29 1DN

    [anr_nocaptcha g-recaptcha-response]

    Trade and craft associations have flourished for many centuries, however the City of London companies, now collectively known as the Livery, are unique in their number and diversity. The cultural conditions which gave birth to the original guilds have long been overtaken by the development of industry and commerce, but the livery companies still flourish. They foster their trades in a widest context, embrace modern skills and professions and serve the community through their charitable trusts.

    The Worshipful Company of Security Professionals’ traces its origins to 1999 when the now Past Masters, Steve Neville OBE and John Purnell GM QPM DL, registered The Guild of Security Professionals with the City of London Chamberlain’s Office. On 18 November 1999, twelve principal founder members met to plan the creation of a working guild. The inaugural meeting, with sixty-two founder members, took place on 27 March 2000 with Sir Neil Macfarlane being elected Founder Master and with Sir David Brewer, CMG LL of Greater London and Mr Deputy Philip Willoughby JP as sponsors. The Guild held its first Dinner at Drapers’ Hall in September 2000. The Windsor Herald designed a Coat of Arms, and the Guild formed an association with the Chapel Royal of St Peter ad Vincula at the Tower of London with its Chaplain becoming our Honorary Chaplain.

    Progression to a Company without Livery occurred on 6 January 2004 when the petition for recognition as a City Company without Livery was recognised by the Court of Aldermen. The Company’s petition for Livery was recognised by the Court of Alderman on 18 February 2008 when it was declared that the Company had become the 108th Livery Company of the City of London. Between these two events there was a considerable amount of activity to raise £300,000 for the Company’s Charitable Trust Fund and £50,000 for the General Fund. Due to the hard work, support and generosity of our Members we exceeded this target. It was also recognised that our aims and objectives were serious and well founded, and that we did not conflict with the interests of existing Companies.

    The Company was presented with its Letters Patent by the then Lord Mayor, Alderman Sir David Lewis on 2 May 2008; followed by a Celebration Luncheon at Guildhall.  In 2009 the Company petitioned the Privy Council for a Royal Charter and Her Majesty The Queen approved an Order instructing the Lord Chancellor to affix the Great Seal to The Worshipful Company’s Charter on 15 February 2010.

    The 108th ranking is by Order of Precedence, under which guidelines the Company is also classified as a Modern Livery Company as it was formed after 1926. It is now one of the largest by membership, with a dynamic Young Members Group and Apprentice Scheme making up one fifth of that number. The Company introduced the City of London Sheriff’s Bravery Award after the 2005 London bombings to recognise annually unsung acts of heroism and the winner’s names are inscribed on the Honours Board in the Old Bailey. The Company launched the Register of Chartered Security Professionals (CSyP) in 2010 as a means of recognising and maintaining high standards in the security profession. Our Charitable Trust thrives through the generous support of Company members and Sponsors and supports an impressive range of benevolent, educational, welfare and cadet activities. 

    Membership of the Company is drawn from the Security Industry in its widest sense and includes leading security professionals from the industrial and retail sectors, serving and retired members of the police and armed services, security consultants, academics, heads of security for corporate businesses, investigators and electronic surveillance practitioners.

    Our Heraldry

    ARMS Party per fess indented acute Or and Azure three Portcullises chained counterchanged.

    CREST Upon a Helm with a Wreath Or and Azure A Unicorn forcene Argent armed mained tufted and unguled Or the dexter forehoof enfiling the hasp of a Padlock Azure the sinister supporting a Terrestrial Globe Or the oceans Azure.

    SUPPORTERS On the dexter a Dragon Azure armed langued winged and gorged with a plain Collar attached thereto a chain reflexed over the back and holding in the sinister foreclaws a Key wards uppermost Or on the sinister a Griffin Azure beaked armed langued winged and holding in the dexter claws a Lightning Flash Or.


    BADGE A Portcullis chained Or within an Annulet the outer edge potenty Azure.

    Founders & Past Masters

    David Burrill

    John Purnell GM QPM DL

    Allan McDonagh

    Simon Imbert

    Una Riley

    Steve Neville OBE

    Sir Neil Macfarlane

    Peter French MBE

    Roy Ramm

    Richard Monk CMG OBE QPM

    Ray Le Monde

    Ken Wood

    John Allen

    Maurice Parsons QPM

    Brian Hughes

    Mike Barley

    John Rees

    Richard Kusnierz

    Phil Beard

    George Russell QPM

    David Marks

    Colin Culleton

    John Smith

    Michael McLaughlin

    Mike Farrell

    David Tucker QPM

    Douglas Milburn

    Martin Gill

    Michael Welply

    David Parker

    Martin Gratte

    Ken Allison

    Don Randall MBE

    Victor Greenberg Michael Basnett CBE

    Bob Rowan

    Christopher Hollands

    Nigel Churton MBE

    Andrew Seymour

    Darryl Hughes

    John Cully

    Alan Stanley

    Per-Olof Loof

    Audrey Fox

    Sir David Veness KBE QPM

    Henry McKay

    Dermot Grace

    Geoffrey Whitfield

    Alex McNutt

    Trevor Gray

    Geoffrey Northcott

    Mike Hawker

    Sir Neil Macfarlane 2000 – 2002

    Stephen Neville 2002 – 2003

    Una Riley 2003 – 2004

    Michael Welply 2004 – 2005

    Trevor Gray 2005 – 2006

    John Purnell GM QPM DL 2006 – 2007

    Peter French MBE 2007 – 2008

    Simon Imbert 2008 – 2009

    Stephen Parsons 2009 – 2010

    Don W Randall MBE 2010 – 2011

    Nigel Churton MBE 2011 – 2012

    Gerald Moor 2012 – 2013

    Brian Hughes 2013 – 2014

    Barrie Stewart 2014 – 2015

    Stuart Seymour 2015 – 2016

    Ian Mayes QC 2016 – 2017

    Air Cdre Stephen Anderton 2017 – 2018

    Phillip Hagon QPM 2018 – 2019

    Michael Barley 2019 – 2020

    Yasmeen Stratton 2020 – 2021

    Stephen Emmins 2021 – 2022

    Livery Companies

    The term livery originated from the specific form of dress worn to denote status of belonging to a trade. Livery companies evolved from London’s medieval guilds, becoming corporations under Royal Charter.

    There are now more than 110 livery companies of the City of London supporting trade, education, charity and fellowship. Livery companies are prominent supporters of industry through research funds, excellence awards, sponsorships, and other carefully targeted trade support.

    Livery companies are integral to the City’s governance: each year liverymen elect the Sheriffs of the City of London, endorse the election of the Lord Mayor and play a prominent part in major events.

    Back To Top